Divorce Cost in Vermont

The divorce cost in Vermont may range from $3,500 to $25,000 if the case doesn’t require a trial. The average cost of divorce in the state is $11,200. However, it rises to $15,600 if there are alimony disputes, to $15,800 with property division issues, and to $16,900 if there are child custody problems. If a trial is necessary to resolve the case, the number increases to $19,800 when children- or property-based disagreements are present. Also, alimony-related divorces that need a trial may cost about $23,500.

Difficult cases may cost up to $200,000, and they usually involve high net worth individuals. The most money will go to the attorney’s services, child custody evaluators, property appraisers, mediators, and trials.

If you have no disagreements and aim at an uncontested divorce without a lawyer’s help or consultation, you may complete the case much cheaper. The divorce cost in VT will include only the mandatory court payments, notary, copies, and other small expenses. The divorce cost for online proceedings is usually about $300.

The most important costs to cover are:

Name of the service Costs
Court filing fee $90 with a stipulation if one or both spouses are residents,
$108 with a stipulation if none of the spouses are residents,
or $295 without a stipulation
Summons $5-$10
Notary costs 50 cents per signature
Papers service $30-$75
Attorney services $210 per hour (on average)

Additional expenses may include:

Name of the service Costs
Property appraisal $373 for a house (on average)
Divorce mediator $100-$300 per hour
Child custody evaluation roughly $2,000 if court-ordered,
or up to $10,000-15,000 if private

Also, remember that all these numbers may change due to new laws. Make sure to consult the local court or a specialist before filing the papers to learn about the relevant fees.