Divorce Cost in Utah

The divorce cost in Utah usually ranges from $4,000 to $30,000. The average is $13,200 if there are no children, alimony, or property division disagreements. However, if there are, the averages change: alimony issues push it to an average of $18,200, property division problems will rise it to about $18,500, while child-related disputes increase the average to $19,800.

If the case goes to trial, the costs change in the following way:

  • Cases with child custody cost $23,200 on average.
  • Cases with alimony issues – $27,500.
  • Cases with property division – $23,200.

Remember, though, that severe issues may increase the divorce cost in UT to $200,000. Such cases often involve high net worth, but on average they cost about $33,700.

On the other hand, if you have no disputes with your spouse and want to have an uncontested divorce, you may only need to pay less than $1,000. Your expenses will include mostly mandatory court payments, notary costs, copy costs, etc. If you want to complete your divorce with the help of an online service, the divorce fee in Utah will be about $300.

The main costs to cover in a divorce are:

Name of the service Costs
Court filing fee $310-$330
Counter-claim about $115
Divorce decree modification about $100
Summons $5-$10
Notary costs $5 per signature
Copies 50 cents per page
Papers service about $50
Attorney services $250 per hour (on average)

There are also additional expenses:

Name of the service Costs
Property appraisal $301 per house (on average)
Recording affecting property $10 on average
Divorce Orientation $20 per parent
Divorce Education Class about $35 per parent
Child custody evaluation $3,000-$8,000, not including
report preparation and traveling if needed

Make sure you check with the local courts before filing the papers. The main reason is that the numbers mentioned here may have increased or decreased. Also, due to changes in laws, there may be additional costs.